Current track



LISTEN: TRUTH release Drum and Bass EP, ‘Without You’

Written by on July 3, 2020

New Zealand DJ/producer duo TRUTH have today released their brand new EP Without You, on bass music imprint Deep, Dark & Dangerous – the duo’s own label which was founded in 2012.

The lads, originally from Christchurch have returned to their drum and bass roots on this EP. Still closely entwined with the bass-heavy artistry of the dubstep they’re world-renowned for, this five-track EP presents a turning point for the producers, and provides an insight into the progression of TRUTH’s sound since their debut release on Mala’s Deep Medi Musik label in 2009.

The immaculate Without You EP lead single, Pass Me By features lush textures and etherial vocals from NZ artist Lelijveld whilst being underpinned by a heavier backdrop – meanwhile cuts like title-track Without You rolls through with cascading breaks. Eyes on Me focuses on segments of percussion and darker moods, whilst the expert drum work of Heartbreak, and the creeping intensity of Miasma brings the EP to a close. It’s a walk through the duo’s vast imaginative scope, and demonstrates the musical diversity TRUTH are truly capable of.

TRUTH celebrate the Without You EP release with a freshly announced spot on the Rhythm & Alps NYE festival bill, and the following live dates. More shows to be announced:

4 July               Hide                                       Christchurch
17 & 18 July     Snow and Bass 2020          Queenstown
25 July             Winter Meltdown                 Wellington
7 August          Malbas                                     Nelson

Listen to the new EP in full below

Story by Mike Nicholas